Love Notes to a Poet-Teacher

If you’ve ever wondered what CPITS students have to say about writing poetry, we’ve got word straight from the source! Perie Longo, poet and long-time CPITS poet-teacher, received “love notes” from her students this year at Summerland School in Santa Barbara County. Check out their sweet and sincere testimonials, including a student poem that expresses a deep love for the act of writing.

~

The Best Moment of My Life

When I’m doing poetry, I feel…
I feel…What’s the word?…Peaceful,
happy; I feel like the world has escaped
from my grasp. All my worries have flown
to another universe, but they always
come back sometime. My pencil floats
to write all the words it is writing now.
A volcano erupts. I see the lava flowing
down. The world has been shrunk down
to the size of my hand. I fly as high
as the sky will let me. I have confidence
that the poem will be great. Poetry, to me,
is the best moment of my life!
I feel like a starfish at the cool tide pools
in the middle of summer.

-Naomi Buchmiller, Grade 4
Summerland School, Santa Barbara County
Summer Bray, Classroom Teacher
Perie Longo, Poet Teacher

“You are my light. You are my shine. You are the light that I run on.”

-Isabella Robarge, Grade 5
Summerland School

“Thank you for teaching me poetry. Poetry is lovely and makes me feel joyful. I don’t want you to leave us. Please come back soon.”

-Luke Robarge, Grade 2
Summerland School

“You helped me express my feelings and not be scared. I now know how to do things that were hard for me before. You changed my day and brightened my life…”

-Emma Hammond, Grade 4
Monte Vista School, SB County

“Your experience with writing poems have taken me to a whole different level.

-Josh Watkins, Grade 4
Monte Vista School, SB County

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Notes to a Poet-Teacher

  1. timzauto says:

    nice post …we would love for you to write a poem for our challenge , just follow this link we have challenges one a week ..Thanks Tim http://anexerciseindiscipline.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/20-lines-or-less-weekly-writing-challenge/

Leave a Reply

